Defending the family

Maryland Committee Attacks Marriage 12 to 10, CALL THESE DELEGATES TO DEFEND MARRIAGE

Genderless Marriage in Maryland


Maryland Bill HB175/55 - The Religous Freedom and Civil Marriage Protection Act has passed the Maryland House of Delegates committee and goes to the floor for a vote next week.





A pro-family Delegate reports the following:


"This is what has happened this week in the Maryland state legislature;
Last Friday we heard the testimony on the same sex marriage legislation for Maryland. We concluded around 9pm.

Over the weekend, many church leaders preached and alerted their members that the definition of marriage was in jeopardy of being redefined to include same sex marriage. That message from the church translated into calls and e-mails that have had a great effect.

(Still quoting pro-family delegate) On Tuesday at 11am we were called to committee vote on the same sex marriage bill. We sat in committee for just over 30 minute's waiting for two missing members. Without their presence and vote, the bill would fail. As result, we did not vote. The Chairman stated that we would vote the same sex marriage bill in the evening. Again, when evening came, there were not enough votes on committee to pass the same sex marriage bill so it was not voted at all on Wednesday.


On Wednesday, we were supposed to vote on the same sex marriage bill. All day long members were pressured by both sides of the issue. As result of missing members and uncertain votes, the same sex marriage bill was not voted for the second day in a row. Your phone calls and e-mails held it off!


On Thursday, we were once again supposed to vote following our bill hearings. Again for the third day, we did not vote to redefine marriage. We have managed to stall the vote for a third consecutive day, as the other side continues to scramble for votes. (unuquote from unnamed pro-family delegate).


The Judiciary committee voted 12-10 to send the bill to the full house


source
http://kensington.patch.com/articles/house-committee-passes-same-sex-marriage


Opponents have vowed to take the issue to voters in a referendum. They believe same-sex marriage would be defeated in a Maryland referendum, just as it has been in California, Maine and other states.



Requested by the pro-family delegate:


Quote "Each of these delegates needs to be encouraged to vote against redefining marriage to include same sex relationships. The message is kind, short and sweet. You can use the following statement as you make your calls:" (UNQUOTE)


EDITED BY PUBLIC ADVOCATE

"My name is (insert your name) and I am calling as a constituent and a citizen of Maryland, (Or if you are from outside Maryland, insert, "as a citizen of (Your State) and America." to ask Delegate (insert delegate's name) to vote against redefining marriage to include same sex relationships. Will he/she make a committment to preserve marriage as between a man and a woman? Thank you for your time."


Calls need to be made starting at 2pm through 8pm this Monday. The calls need to be made again every day until you hear in the news that Same Sex Marriage was defeated. Please send e-mails whenever you can and as often as you can.


LIST OF DELEGATES TO CALL AND EMAIL


District 19-(Montgomery County) Sam Arora- 410-841-3528

sam.arora@house.state.md.us

District 43-(Baltimore City) Curt Anderson- 410- 841- 3291

curt.anderson@house.state.md.us

District 8-(Baltimore County) Eric Bromwell- 410-841-3766

eric.bromwell@house.state.md.us

District 40- (Baltimore City) Frank Conaway- 410-841-3189

frank.conaway@house.state.md.us

District 22- (Prince Georges County) Tawanna Gaines- 410-841-3058

tawanna.gaines@house.state.md.us

District 25-(Prince Georges County) Melony Griffith- 410-841-3557

melony.griffith@house.state.md.us

District 44-(Baltimore City) Keith Haynes- 410-841-3801

keith.haynes@house.state.md.us

District 46-(Baltimore City) Brian McHale-410-841-3319

brian.mchale@house.state.md.us

District 28-(Charles County) Peter Murphy- 410-841-3247

peter.murphy@house.state.md.us

District 27A (Prince Georges County) James Proctor- 410-841-3083

james.proctor@house.state.md.us

District 47-(Prince Georges County) Michael Summers- 410-841-3340

michael.summers@house.state.md.us

District 40 - (Baltimore City) Shawn Tarrant- 410-841-3545

shawn.tarrant@house.state.md.us

District 13-(Howard County) Frank Turner- 410-841-3246

frank.turner@house.state.md.us

District 26-(Prince Georges County) Veronica Turner- 410-841-3212

veronica.turner@house.state.md.us



Other sources:


Gay Marriage bill advances in House despite certain legislators opposition



http://www.examiner.com/independent-in-baltimore/gay-marriage-bill-advances-house-despite-certain-legislators-opposition

Maryland House committee passes gay marriage bill

By Associated Press



Thank you to the PFOX blog, ex-gay ministry
http://pfox-exgays.blogspot.com/

More News Articles